World Heritage Sites
Discover the World Heritage Sites of Morocco

The Kingdom of Morocco is a country of extraordinary beauty that spans from a Mediterranean coastline in the North through scenic mountain landscapes to the empty wilderness of the Sahara in the South.

Discover, in the North of Morocco, the historic Imperial Cities of Fez, Marrakech, Rabat and Meknes where you can wander through the maze of alleyways and you lose yourself in the atmosphere of a bustling medina (old walled city).  Also in the North are the picturesque coastal towns of Essaouira and El Jadida along with Tetouan and the Roman ruins of Volubilis.

South of the Atlas Mountain range, with barely accessible passes in the winter months, lie the great ergs (sand seas) of the Sahara known for their spectacular desert landscape and where you can camel trek with a desert guide to sleep under the stars in a desert camp. Along the desert route lies Morocco’s most spectacular example of a fortified village (ksar): Ait Benhaddou.

Travel with us to discover these unique sites that, over the decades, have been designated UNESCO World Heritage status:

  • The Archaeological Site of Volubilis (1997) – Roman Ruins
  • The Historic City of Meknes(1996)
  • The Ksar of Ait Ben Haddou (1987) – Fortified Village
  • The Medina of Essaouira (2001) – formerly Mogador
  • The Medina of Fes (1981)
  • The Medina of Marrakech (1985)
  • The Medina of Tetouan (1997) – formerly Titawin
  • The Portuguese City of Mazagan (2004) – El Jadida
  • The Modern Capital and Historic City of Rabat (2012) – Shared Heritage
Suggested Itineraries

Browse our sample tours bearing in mind these are only suggestions and can be customized to meet your requirements:

  • Discover the UNESCO World Heritage Sites